Frequently Asked Questions
Q. I am getting divorced. Am I required to take a parenting class?
Yes, if you are have minor children. In Florida, parents of minor children have 45 days after filing a petition, or after service of the petition to complete a parenting course, unless excused by the court.
Proof of compliance must be filed with the court for a final judgment to be granted.
Q. Is this course approved by the State of Florida?
Yes. Our Florida Parenting Course is approved by the Department of Children and Families (DCF) and meets all requirements for the Parent Education and Family Stabilization Course.
Q. Do I need to take a test?
Yes. At the end of the course, there is a final exam which requires a passing grade of 70%. You will be allowed unlimited attempts to complete the exam.
Q. How long is the course?
Parents must spend a minimum of 4 hours but once you are enrolled, you may spread out the time for completion. You can sign out, sign back in, pause and restart the course at your own pace. Previous portions completed are saved so you can always pick up where you left off.
Q. Does the certificate of completion have an expiration date?
No. The certificate itself does not have an expiration date but when a petitioner files a new divorce or paternity case in Florida, the course must be completed by the responding party within 45 days from the date of filing.
Q. Is this course approved in my Florida County?
Although our online Florida Parenting class Is fully approved by DCF, you can always check with your attorney, case worker or your local County Court office: Click here.
Of the 67 Florida Counties, we are aware of only 2 Counties where in person
instruction is required: Pasco and Manatee Counties.
Q. Is there a money back guarantee and Refund Policy?
Yes. We offer a 30-day money back guarantee; no questions asked. If after 30 days your certificate of completion is not accepted by your County, we offer a lifetime money back guarantee.
Q. Will I receive Proof of Enrollment in the course.
Yes. As soon as you register, you will receive an email receipt to download for your records.
Q. Is the Parent Education and Family Stabilization Course Required?
This parenting course is required by Florida law for parents with minor children in order to obtain a final judgement of dissolution of marriage.
Q. Do I need to apply for the course in person or go anywhere?
No. The course is 100% online, available 24/7. You just need to register online at our website and begin the course.
Q. How do I get my Certificate of Completion?
After you complete the course by spending at least 4 hours of study and complete the quiz, you will automatically and immediately receive your signed and dated certificate via email. If you need an original document mailed to you, we shall send it via regular mail at no additional cost. We do not send overnight or express mail due to the prohibitive costs.
Q. Can both parents take the same Course together and pay for only one class?
No. Each parent must take a separate class and each certificate of completion
must have only one name for the parent taking the class.
The 2021 Florida Statutes
CIVIL PRACTICE AND PROCEDURE
Chapter 61.21 Title VI
5) All parties required to complete a parenting course under this section shall begin the course as expeditiously as possible. For dissolution of marriage actions, unless excused by the court pursuant to subsection (4), the petitioner must complete the course within 45 days after the filing of the petition, and all other parties must complete the course within 45 days after service of the petition. For paternity actions, unless excused by the court pursuant to subsection (4), the petitioner must complete the course within 45 days after filing the petition, and any other party must complete the course within 45 days after an acknowledgment of paternity by that party, an adjudication of paternity of that party, or an order granting time-sharing to or support from that party. Each party to a dissolution or paternity action shall file proof of compliance with this subsection with the court prior to the entry of the final judgment.